It’s Been a While . . .

5 04 2011

A lot of things have happened since my birthday week, and I just realized that I have not updated the blog since then. So, here goes a brief summary . . .

With my long term goal being to spend an extended period of time over here in Timisoara, I have begun a job search at different language schools within the city – as well as one of the local high schools. Only one center is currently hiring (though the process is still fairly lengthy), but I figured it is best to go ahead and send out my resume and set up possible meetings with the different directors so that when a position does open up, they will at least know who I am and have my information already in hand. Last Tuesday, the 29th of March, I had an interview with one of the language centers here in Timisoara – the one that is currently hiring. They have 4 positions for different languages (I think only 1 is for English), but over 300 applicants. I am not sure not to really evaluate the interview since it was my first in Romania, but I feel that it went well and would be a good opportunity – should an offer be made. From what it sounds like, they are searching for teachers to begin sometime either at the end of May or first of June, so if that is the case and I get offered a position, then my return to the States would be a quick one. Another opportunity (with the local high school that teaches all courses in English) may be available for September, but, again, I would not know more about that until probably the end of April. It sounds like they are considering adding another teacher for next year, but they do not usually finalize those plans until after Easter. If this opportunity is open to me, then my stay in the States would be a couple months longer. Either way, I am continuing to pray that God would continue to direct my steps and lead me to the opportunity over here that He has for me, and I ask that you continue to pray for me in this area.

This past weekend, I was also able to visit some friends, Razvan and Oana, who live in a different city here in Romania – Craiova. I met them in 2009 when I went to the OSCER leadership week in Bulgaria, and they have traveled to Atlanta a couple times since then due to Razvan’s work. Every time I have come to Romania since 2009, they have asked that I try and make a visit to their city as well, so I can visit the college ministry and church in that city. Usually, I am only here for a week and just enough time for a camp, but this time, I was able to manage a few days to travel out to see them and spend time with the students in Craiova. It was definitely an interesting trip, as I made the journey by myself, and got to experience the wonderful countryside of Romania by train. Of course, it was a 6am train out of Timisoara, and I had to walk 40 minutes from the church to the train station, but it was still a fun experience getting to Craiova. While there, I was able to reconnect with my old friends and make some new ones, and I was also able to be a part of a couple different worship services – the one for college students on Friday night, and the regular church meeting on Sunday morning. I was exhausted when I returned to Timisoara yesterday, but it was definitely a blessing to be able to take the time to see what God is doing in a different city here in Romania!

Today, I received an e-mail inviting me to a weekend conference in Azuga, Romania (a small town in the eastern part of the country near Brasov) where the national student ministry, OSCER, will be having a time of training and planning. I do not know much of the details about this coming weekend yet, but that does seem to be the norm over here . . . you find out what you need to know when you need to know it. Either way, I am definitely looking forward to spending time with the college leadership from all over Romania and hearing how things have been going in their cities since we last met in 2009.


Actions

Information

Leave a comment